ERS Research Award: Innovation In Non-Tuberculous Mycobacteria Science And Medicine

Claire Andrejak

Presented to: Dr Claire Andréjak

This award is offered to one awardee who is both a researcher and is pursuing an active research project in the NTM lung disease field.


Claire Andréjak is a young French pneumologist who has focused her research on nontuberculous mycobacteria since the beginning of her residency in 2003. She works in the Department of Respiratory Diseases and Intensive Care Unit in the Amiens University Hospital, and in the EA4294 Unit in Picardie Jules Verne University as a NTM researcher.

After her residency, she spent 4 months in the Department of Clinical Epidemiology in Denmark to work on NTM epidemiology, and 18 months in the Center for Tuberculosis Research in the Johns Hopkins University to develop two murine models of NTM infection by nebulization. When she returned to France, she worked as Assistant Professor for three years before becoming Professor in 2012.

Until now, her primary research field has focused on NTM in three areas: epidemiology, experimental research with development of murine models of infection, and clinical research with clinical randomized trials. Her past, current and future work has been/is possible because of partners in France, Europe and the USA. Partnerships have mainly been formed via networks such as: the NTM-net/ERS, the MycoMed, and the GREPI. Finally, she has worked in the task force for the next ATS/IDSA/ERS/ESCMID guidelines on NTM diseases management.

  • The Ceremony for the ERS Research Award: Innovation in NTM Science and Medicine will take place during the Symposium "Clinical impact of nontuberculous mycobacterial (NTM) disease" on Monday 11 September from 14:45 in Room Bronze (Hall 4).

The ERS Research Award: Innovation in Non-Tuberculous Mycobacteria (NTM) Science and Medicine grants €10,000 to the recipient. This prize is financially supported by Insmed.