ERS Presidential Award 2019

Professor Jean-Louis Vincent

Jean Louis VINCENT ERS Presidential AwardProfessor of intensive care medicine, Université Libre de Bruxelles, and Intensivist in the Department of Intensive Care at Erasme University Hospital, Brussels, Belgium.

Professor Vincent obtained his medical degree from the Université Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium, and completed specialty training in internal medicine and intensive care medicine, including two years at the University of Southern California, USA, before obtaining his PhD in cardiovascular physiology. He is currently Professor of intensive care medicine at the Université Libre de Bruxelles and intensivist in the Department of Intensive Care at Erasme University Hospital in Brussels, where he was Head of the department from 1996-2014.

He is a Past-President of the World Federation of Societies of Intensive and Critical Care Medicine (WFSICCM), the European Society of Intensive Care Medicine (ESICM), the European Shock Society (ESS), the Belgian Society of Intensive Care Medicine (SIZ), and the International Sepsis Forum (ISF). He is a member of the Belgian Royal Academy of Medicine and was made a Baron by the King of Belgium in 2013.

Professor Vincent has authored over 1,000 peer-reviewed articles, 400 book chapters and 1,000 abstracts. He has edited more than 100 books, including the 'Textbook of Critical Care' (Elsevier Saunders, 5th Edition) and the 'Encyclopedia of Intensive Care Medicine' (Springer).

He is the editor-in-chief of Critical Care, Current Opinion in Critical Care, and ICU Management & Practice and member of the editorial boards of 30 other journals, including Critical Care Medicine (senior editor), American Journal of Respiratory and Critical Care Medicine (AJRCCM), PLoS Medicine, Lancet Respiratory Medicine, Intensive Care Medicine, Shock, Journal of Critical Care and The Annals of Intensive Care.

Prof. Vincent has received several awards including the College Medalist Award of the American College of Chest Physicians, the Society Medal (lifetime award) of the European Society of Intensive Care Medicine, the Distinguished Investigator Award, the Lifetime Achievement Award of the Society of Critical Care Medicine, and the prestigious Belgian scientific award of the FRS-FNRS (Prix Scientifique Joseph Maisin-Sciences biomédicales cliniques).

His name appears more than 1,200 times in Pubmed, and his work has been cited more than 170,000 times; his H-index is 169.

The ceremony for the Presidential Award will take place during the Opening Session, taking place on Saturday 28 September, 2019 from 17.45 in Room 8B.